State Payday Lending Laws

Congress Washington
Payday loans are small, high-interest loans. They are meant for short-term borrowing, but due to high rates and easy turnover rules, they tend to roll over and accumulate into large debts.

In order to prevent snowballing debt for residents, states across the country have implemented their own regulations to traffic payday loans.

Currently, thirty-eight states allow for payday lending. The remaining twelve states which have a current ban on payday loans are Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Vermont and West Virginia. In addition, payday loans are illegal in Washington D.C. In each of these states, strict regulations make it impossible for high-interest lenders to survive.

Payday lending regulation is a constant process where some states fight to re-instate it, and others fight to limit it. Although state regulations can change rapidly, having an easy to access map and chart of the state-by-state rules is a helpful guide for potential borrowers.

Consumers can use the following interactive map and chart to determine their state’s eligibility for the loans, as well as rules and costs associated with payday lending in each state.

If your state's payday loan laws permit, you can apply for a payday loan online. 

(Content Updated 03-21-2013)